ISPlasma 2009 MEXT (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology) Knowledge Cluster Initiative (The Second Stage)
~ Tokai Region Nanotechnology Manufacturing Cluster ~
ISPlasma 2009
  First International Symposium on
Advanced Plasma Science and its Applications
March 8-11, 2009
IB Building, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan

Organizing Committee Chairperson : Masaru Hori
Vice Director, Plasma Nanotechnology Research Center, Nagoya University

Sponsored by  
Co-sponsored by  

Supported by  
Aichi Science & Technology Foundation
Aichi Prefecture, Nagoya City, Gifu Prefecture ,Nagoya University, Nagoya institute of Technology, Meijo University, Chubu University
The Japan Society of Applied Physics Division of Plasma Electronics, Mie Prefecture, Gifu University, Toyohashi University of Technology, Toyota Technological Institute, Mie University, Japan Fine Ceramics Center, National Institute for Fusion Science, Chubu Bureau of Economy Trade and Industry (METI), Chubu Economic Federation, Nagoya Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Gifu Industries’ Association, Nagoya Industrial Science Research Institute, Nagoya City Association for Industrial Technology, Nagoya Urban Industries Promotion Corporation, Gifu Research & Development Foundation, Tokai Monodukuri Council, Aichi Industrial Research Association, Nagoya University Supportive Organization, NIT‘s Research Cooperation Association, The Japan Society of Applied Physics Tokai Chapter, The Japan Society of Plasma Science and Nuclear Fusion Research, Japan Society of Electromagnetic Wave Energy Applications(JEMEA), The Forum for Atomic and Molecular Data and Their Applications
The ISPlasma2009 will be held as part of the International Program of the Second Stage Knowledge Cluster Project (Tokai Region Nanotechnology Manufacturing Cluster) to establish an Advanced Plasma Nanotechnology Science Research Foundation in the Tokai region. The symposium is focused on at advanced plasma science and technology and its applications. Fields of focus within this symposium include plasma diagnostics/monitoring, sputtering, etching, deposition, surface modification and simulation. In addition, the conference will include plasma applications such as processing of Si or group III nitrides for nano-size semiconductors or similar nano-materials. During this symposium, the effective technological collaboration between industry-academia-government will also be discussed with the aim of establishing in the future an Advanced Plasma Science and Technology Center in the region that will collaborate with world-wide research institutes.
Tentative Speakers:
Outline of Knowledge Cluster Initiative
    Osamu Takenaka, ASTF, Japan
    Masaru Hori, Nagoya University, Japan
    Osamu Takai, Nagoya University, Japan
    Takashi Egawa, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
    Yoshimi Watanabe, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan
Plasma Science
    Jeon G. Han, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
    Uwe Czarnetzki, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
    Matthew Goeckner, University of Texas at Dallas , U.S.A.
    Jindrich Musil, University of West Bohemia, Czech Republic
    Gilles Cunge, CEA Grenoble, France
    Shigetoshi Hosaka, Tokyo Electron Limited, Japan
    Tamio Hara, Toyota Technological Institute, Japan
    Mineo Hiramatsu, Meijo University, Japan
    Masaharu Shiratani, Kyushu University, Japan
    Yuichi Setsuhara, Osaka University, Japan
    Hirotaka Toyoda, Nagoya University, Japan
    Akihiro Wakahara, Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan
    Keiji Nakamura, Chubu University, Japan
    Noritsugu Umehara, Nagoya University, Japan
Applications for Nitride Semiconductors
    Bruno Daudin, CEA Grenoble, France
    Yasushi Nanishi, Ritsumeikan University, Japan
    Akihiko Yoshikawa, Chiba University, Japan
    Jean Yves Duboz, CNRS-CRHEA, France
    Katsumi Kishino, Sophia University, Japan
    Hiroshi Amano, Meijo University, Japan
Technology Transfer (with interpretation)
    Jean-Charles Guibert, MINATEC, France
    Charles D. Dilks, Philadelphia Science Center, U.S.A
    Michiyuki Kume, PLACIA, Japan
Panel Discussion (with interpretation)
    Osamu Takenaka, ASTF, Japan
    Charles D. Dilks, Philadelphia Science Center, U.S.A
    Jean-Charles Guibert, MINATEC, France
    Jeon G. Han, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea
    Michiyuki Kume, PLACIA, Japan
    Kou Matsumoto, TN EMC Ltd., Japan
    Masaru Hori, Nagoya University, Japan
Registration Fee: Free
Banquet Fee (on March 9th): General, JPY 5,000, Student, JPY 2,000

Secretariat:c/o Aichi Science & Technology Foundation
Phone:+81-52-231-1656 Fax:+81-52-231-1640 E-mail:cluster2008@astf.or.jp URL:http://www.isplasma.jp/